Which Dogs are Sighthounds?

bark cover irish wolfhoundThe cover dog for the September/October Bark magazine is an Irish Wolfhound, which I was surprised to learn is a relative of the whippet! 

I’m awful at recognizing dog breeds, as I admitted in the article, “What Kind of Dog is That?” but figure I should at least attempt to learn our whippets’ sighthound relatives. My study sheet:

Greyhound, Whippet and IG (photo from Bring Fido)

Greyhound, Whippet and IG (photo from Bring Fido)

First up, for us the no-brainers:

 

Then, there are what I think of as the “Greyhounds with Hair:” 

  • Saluki, like a greyhound with fringe

    Saluki, like a greyhound with fringe

    Afghan (We had one of these when I was growing up. Oh my, what a handful! I can still picture my mom trying to drive with the Afghan sitting on her lap.)

  • Borzoi
  • Saluki  Not as fast as a greyhound, but has more endurance (and a lot more ear hair)
Introducing Olive! A Scottish Deerhound puppy owned by C.Square

Introducing Olive! A Scottish Deerhound puppy owned by C.Square

At the top of the food chain, as their names suggest, are the sighthounds with genuine, top of the line, built-in fur coats, such that Bob refers to one living across the street from us as “Chewbacca:

There are also foreign greyhounds, ostensibly their own breeds, but not recognized by the American Kennel Club:

  • Polish Greyhound (Chart Polski) – I had never heard of this until looking at Wikipedia today
  • Mari, the Galgo of Chilly Dogs  (photo by Suzanne Bird of Urban Dog Photog)

    Mari, the Galgo of Chilly Dogs (photo by Suzanne Bird of Urban Dog Photog)

    Spanish Greyhound (Galgo) – I know this one because the owner of Chilly Dogs coat company in Canada has a Galgo! 

Wikipedia lists four sighthounds I’ve never heard of, probably because nobody can pronounce them: Azawakh, Hortaya, Magyar Agar, Slughi. Two hounds I have heard of they don’t list as sighthounds but are in the AKC, so we’ll take them into the family tree:

  • A Pharaoh Hound: If I saw this at the dogrun, I'd probably think "Doberman." I really do need to spend some time in the dog house!

    Pharaoh Hound: If I saw this, I'd probably think "Doberman." I really do need to spend some time in the dog house!

     Ibizan Hound

     

     

  • Pharaoh Hound

 

Permalink for this article

Shortlink for this article:  http://wp.me/ptNqu-bu

3 Comments

Filed under Getting a Dog / Adding to the Family, Real House Whippets of NYC

3 responses to “Which Dogs are Sighthounds?

  1. Thanks for the good info – I too need to brush up on my sighthound knowledge!

  2. Great info. There are a few more sighthounds that we don’t see here in Canada very often and most people haven’t heard of them. The Padenco and Azawakh hound. Both originated in Europe. The rescue group in Spain say that Mari might have Padenco in her since she has very large upright ears. I’m sure there is even more sighthounds that are unfamilar to most dog and sighthound people.

  3. Hey, you forgot the Basenji! 😉

    I stumbled across your blog looking for info on sighthound coats. It doesn’t appear that you’ve updated in a while, but I enjoyed reading what’s here. The expense reports are a good idea for a blog — I may start using mine to track my dog finances too, as I need to find SOME way to keep things in order.

Leave a Reply

